Registration for Fall 2015 is Now Open


We are excited to announce that registration (symposium only) is now open for the New England Archivists' Fall 2015 New England Meeting, "Exploring the Eye of History." This unique meeting promises to be a fascinating experience so make sure to reserve your space early.

The two-part day will begin at the AS220 studios with a small morning workshop (FULL), where thirty participants will gain hands-on experience developing images using several 19th-century photography processes like cyanotype and wet plate collodion photography.

The afternoon session, a larger symposium at the Providence Public Library, will include talks and demonstrations devoted to the history and techniques of 19th-century photography. The day will culminate with a collaborative reinterpretation of a magic lantern show by Providence’s Wonder Show.

All presentations will be geared toward those who manage large photographic collections as well as those who work with these materials just occasionally -- novices and seasoned archivists alike. Whatever your level of experience, this meeting will have something for you. Enthusiasm is the only prerequisite!

Schedule & Registration Information

Local Accommodations, Parking, & Restaurants

Upcoming events

2015-10-22 9:00 AM • Massachusetts Historical Society, Boston, MA
2015-11-07 8:30 AM • AS220 Art Studios and Providence Public Library | Providence, Rhode Island
2015-11-07 1:00 PM • AS220 Art Studios and Providence Public Library | Providence, Rhode Island
2016-03-31 • By the Bay Conference Center, Portland, ME

Inclusion & Diversity Statement

At the beginning of 2014, the New England Archivists (NEA) Board began working on an inclusion and diversity statement for the organization.  After receiving valuable feedback from membership, the NEA Board approved the statement that resonated most with NEA members.  The Board is pleased to announce NEA's Inclusion and Diversity Statement:

NEA supports inclusion and diversity as core values in achieving its mission. NEA is committed to building and maintaining an inclusive environment where differences of opinion, beliefs, and values are sought, listened to, respected, and valued. Through inclusion, NEA is dedicated to expanding membership, participation, and leadership that reflect the broad diversity of New England.

The Board recognizes that this statement is a living document and will continue to ask for member feedback as the organization moves forward in its inclusion and diversity efforts.  We would like to thank our membership for helping NEA develop this important initiative.  For more information, please visit (link to press release).  For more information on NEA's inclusion and diversity initiative, please visit:

© New England Archivists
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software